Experimental Lex

Playing with words.

The Book Experiment

Have you ever wondered what it would take to write a book?  Imagine some of the prolific authors of the past and present and how they organized their days and their work.  The end product is over 300 pages of combined story structure, organized chapters, character development, conversations, historical and geographical illustration…

I wonder what tools they use as they write.  In a way, I feel lucky to have participated in that pre-digital era when you had to plan your words before you put them on paper.  Yes, on real paper using a typewriter or pen.  Is it easier to write now because of computers that give you immediate digital access to all of your information and the rest of the Internet?  Or does it actually distract you from writing?

The world loves that image of the genius writer who has a moment of inspiration and determination and can thus write an entire book in one sitting .  Yet, I doubt it is true.  I have experienced such moments only for short-form writings, such as blog posts and work-related documents.  So we return to the original question.  How does a writer organize and assemble their collective notes and material into a cohesive story?

Of course, this is not easy to answer and each writer probably has a different way of doing things.  The real question for me is how I can accomplish this.  I have been pondering this question for a few days and I’ve been working towards having a system for organizing my writing materials, ideas, and characters.

This is the book experiment.  I don’t have the answers yet, but I like to think that finding the answers will also result in a beautiful collection of stories and material with some resemblance to a book.  Stay tuned.

Comments are closed.

